I Actually Do Things, Part Two, Electric Boogaloo

29 Nov

Busy fighting crime, discussin’ super powers, and mind controllin’ people to write a post tonight, but what, did you think that was ALL of that horror movie script I wrote? 

[Addendum: Alice Glass is so much fun to write.]

[SCENE FIVE]

[Alice, sans long coat, is getting a drink from a vending machine. We can see from a nearby window that it’s dark outside, but still snowing. All alone, Alice rests her head against the side of the machine, and takes a few deep breaths. It’s obvious she’s fighting back tears. While she’s doing this, a broad shouldered, middle aged black man in a suit jacket comes up the hallway behind her.]

ROTHKO: Excuse me, Detective Glass?

ALICE: I just saw a man’s torso torn open like Chinese take-out. Unless you’re here with my freshly laundered long coat, kindly shit off.

ROTHKO: Detective Elliot Rothko, ma’am.

ALICE: [as an aside] Oh, of course the one person I mouth off to is the one person I’m not allowed to. [turns around to greet Rothko, with a huge fake smile] So, I take it you’re the one they threw in charge of this fiasco? Heh, guess you’re the one who drew the short straw.

ROTHKO: Actually, I volunteered for this assignment.

ALICE: Damn, they have you trained.

ROTHKO: So I’ve been told. [pulls out a notepad and pencil] Can you tell me what happened?

[They begin walking down the hallway.]

ALICE: Sure. Came here to visit my sister, went about as well as one could reasonably expect under the circumstances, heard somebody screaming, went to put a stop to it, and got to walk straight in to my wide awake nightmare for a few months.

ROTHKO: Any other details you can give me?

ALICE: His arm made a weird noise when I broke it?

ROTHKO: [smirks] All of your paperwork says you’re a detective, but when I called the precinct, nobody had heard of you.

ALICE: Oh, yeah, I’m an out-of-towner.

ROTHKO: And you’re just here to visit your sister?

ALICE: That, and your wicked nightlife. [frowns] Have you identified a motive yet?

ROTHKO: Not as of yet. The suspect worked here, yes, but in a completely different part of the centre than the victim. Near as we can tell, the two never even interacted.

[An orderly walks up, holding Alice’s coat.]

ORDERLY: Miss?

ALICE: Oh, thanks! [begins throwing the coat on] So, Rothko, are we done here?

ROTHKO: I think so, ma’am, but please don’t leave town for the next couple of days. And thank you for your assistance in detaining the suspect.

ALICE: Heh, no problem. [turns to go, then stops] Hey, Detective? Why did you volunteer for this case?

ROTHKO: Nothing, really, I was just put in charge of the other murders.

ALICE: Oh, okay. [takes a moment to sink in] Wait, what?!

[SCENE SIX]

[Alice and Rothko stand in an appropriated office, with the folders for the previous cases scattered across the desk. Rothko is stoic, while Alice is confused and angry.]

ALICE: Six?! Six fucking murders?!

ROTHKO: All over the course of one year, yes.

ALICE: Why the hell have I never heard of this?! I would have taken my sister out of here months ago if I knew this was going on!

ROTHKO: The administration has kept it quiet, for just that reason. Not very good for business if all the patients left.

ALICE: It’s also not good for business if everyone is dead! So, what are we dealing with, some kind of serial killer?

ROTHKO: No.

ALICE: … Okay, you’ve lost me.

ROTHKO: [picks up one of the folders] Anne Teering, volunteer and orderly, found standing over the extensively disfigured body of one Jackson MacReady, patient. Confessed to the killing, convicted, currently in a maximum security ward out of town. [puts down the folder, picks up another] Alexander Weyer, assistant cook, confessed to tossing Liz Bumby, patient, off the top floor. Oswald-

ALICE: Okay, fine, I get it, turn off the fucking slideshow. They’re all different? No connecting factor?

ROTHKO: Except for the fact that they’re all remarkably gruesome, yes.

ALICE: And the fact that they’re all here. In the same building.

ROTHKO: Yes.

ALICE: … That’s not fucking normal!

[Alice slides behind the desk, and collapses into the swivel chair, her face in her hands.]

ALICE: What a fine cocking mess. What do you think’s been going on?

ROTHKO: This is a very unlucky hospital?

ALICE: Oh, come on. You can’t believe that.

ROTHKO: What else am I supposed to believe?

ALICE: [thinks for a second] Don’t close the case just yet.

ROTHKO: You’re not thinking of looking into this, are you?

ALICE: Maybe. Tell the night shift I’ll be in here, looking over the files. I wanna see if you missed something.

ROTHKO: Tell the ni- no! I’m not going to do that!

ALICE: How come?

ROTHKO: You’re not even a part of this investigation!

ALICE: Well, I guess I am now.

ROTHKO: T- that’s- no, that’s not how this works.

[Alice starts making “shooing” motions with her hands.]

ALICE: Shoo, shoo! You’ve got to go hand in reports, get home to the husband or whatever! I’ll probably be here for a while, don’t worry about me. I’ll keep out of trouble, avoid being a loose cop on the edge, I’ll just sit here and read things! Hell, tomorrow, you can call up my precinct and make this official.

ROTHKO: [stops and thinks for a minute] You do realize we’re not going to pay you for this, right?

ALICE: Yes, yes, I’m doing this out of the goodness of my heart. Let the night staff know I’m here, and I’ll see you tomorrow.

[Rothko shakes his head for a moment, and walks out, and we linger on a shot of Alice Glass reading through murder and death.]

[SCENE SEVEN]

[Alice opens the door to the crime scene, ducking under the tape as she steps in to the room. Steps gingerly, slipping on rubber gloves, as she examines the room. The camera lingers on all the gore left behind by the crime scene technicians, and Alice starts curiously looking at all of the personal items in the room. Books, drawings, medication, pictures- none of it significant. Alice turns to leave, and gasps in shock as a patient stands at the door.]

ALICE: Gah! Jesus- um, hi, hello, miss! Thank you very much for definitely not startling me!

[The patient doesn’t say anything, but she grins like she’s playing a huge game, and points at the ground excitedly. She hops and down, before quickly walking away to a beckoning orderly. Alice is confused for a moment, until she bends down to the spot where the patient beckoned, and finds tiny but deep scratches carved in to the linoleum, and the base of the door. On her hands and knees, she follows them out and down the hallway. Eventually, she stops, stands up tall, and checks her folders.]

ALICE: Anne Teering- room 38B.

[After a quick shot of Alice using the elevator, we see her checking the now empty room, and after a minute of searching, she finds identical claw marks carved into the window sill, and outside the wall of the building. We see her check the folder again, and then we see her checking a third room and finding marks on the ceiling. She finds the marks on floors, ceilings, window sills, staircases, elevators, and eventually, we see her follow the scratches to a large, painfully bright wing in the basement. She checks the sign on the door.]

[“DISTURBED PATIENT WARD”.]

Leave a Reply

